- Consumer Assistance
- Renew or Apply for a License
- About Us
- DORA Home
Consumer Protection is our Mission.
The State Plumbing Board licenses, registers, and regulates plumbers, apprentices, and plumbing contractors. The board does not regulate pipefitters, drain cleaners, and gas pipe installers. They conduct regular inspections for plumbing and gas pipe installations, and review special requests for exceptions to the code. The board’s mission is to protect the health of the public by enforcing the state plumbing statutes. The board is made up of eight professional and public members that are appointed by the governor.
We are pleased to announce that the fees charged for permits will be reduced temporarily, effective September 8, 2014. Robust growth in construction across Colorado this year led to an increase in the number of plumbing permits issued the State Plumbing Board at DORA, the Department of Regulatory Agencies. Because DORA only collects enough permit revenue to cover the cost of inspection services for customers, all fees charged for permits will be reduced by 75 percent for Plumbing permits, across-the-board. This fee reduction is temporary. DORA will evaluate permit fees next year, at which time fees may have to be adjusted to generate sufficient revenue to cover costs. DORA will provide notice to customers before initiating any increase.
As of March 15th, the 2012 Colorado Plumbing and Colorado Fuel Gas Codes are adopted and in effect for all plumbing and fuel gas installations in the state. State inspectors will begin enforcing the new provisions March 17th
There are several amendments to the 2012 IPC, IRC, and IFGC that may benefit plumbing and gas pipe installations in the Board Rules.
Board Rules and Statutes are available on the Plumbing Home Page at:
See the grey block of book marks of the left side of the page for statutes and rules.
Remember, per 12-58-104(m) C.R.S., local jurisdictions are required to “adhere to” or enforce the currently adopted code within 12 months of adoption by the Plumbing Board.
The state plumbing license vendor will begin testing over the 2012 code on July 1st, 2014. All tests prior to that date will continue to be from the 2009 code.
What services are available via the online permits system?
Contractors and homeowners may use the online system to:
Please contact the Denver office for information on the above services.
Enter Plumbing Online Permits - to purchase a permit or request an inspection
Disaster Relief Resources
Quick Tips on How to Find the Right Contractor
MoreTips on Hiring a Contractor
IMPORTANT TIPS TO READ ABOUT:
DON’T GET SCAMMED!
Click here for some excellent advice on avoiding scams.
10 TIPS ON HIRING A REGISTERED CONTRACTOR
Naturally, you’re eager to get the rebuilding started. But take a few minutes to click here and review these tips. You’ll be glad you did.
YOUR GUIDE TO HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTS
Always require a signed contract. And here’s what to look for.
A customer's gas is shut off: What do I do?
The State of Colorado Plumbing Board understands that consumers need to get gas service restored as soon as possible. However safety is a concern. Damaged gas systems can cause fires. If your structure is damaged, the gas service provider will make the determination to restore service or to remove the gas meter. Damaged systems will need permits by the person or contractor doing repairs. State inspectors will inspect the repair or replacement work and attach a blue tag to the gas service outlet as an indication to the gas provider that the gas system is to code and the gas meter may be re-installed and energized.
In preparation for compliance with the requirement from Senate Bill 13-162 for the State Plumbing Board to provide inspections in all areas of the state where a local jurisdiction does not provide permit and inspection services, the Board will be updating information from all jurisdictions in the state. If you represent a local jurisdictional inspection authority, please take a minute to update your jurisdictional information at this link or click the “Jurisdictional Information Input” button bookmark to the left of this page. The deadline set by SB13-162 is October 1st for local jurisdictions to inform the board of their intent to provide permitting and inspection services. Cities, towns and counties not submitting their intent to commence or cease issuing permits and providing inspections by the October 1 deadline will fall under the jurisdictional authority of the State Plumbing Board for the issuance of permits with the requirement of inspections on July 1st, 2014.
Effective November 1, 2013, hard copy, mail-in apprentice registration applications are no longer available. Apprentices are now directed to register using our online system. Contractors can also add/remove apprentices to/from their registration using Online Services.
NOTE: Our new system requires that all contractors have a correct FEIN (Tax ID number) in our database. If an attempt to register results in a “No match found” error message, please DO NOT register a new account, contact us at DORA_DPO_OnlineLicenses@state.co.us or 303-894-2421 so that we may ensure information accuracy in our system.
On Friday, January 25, 2013, the Board transitioned to a new testing agency, PSI. This office has transferred currently approved exam candidate files to PSI.
We do not foresee any transition difficulties or examination delays, however, if you are unable to schedule an examination with PSI, contact the Office of Licensing at 303-894-7800.
1. Non- licensed contractor permits are being eliminated.
a. Beginning July 1, 2013 permits for shower pans and mobile home setups will not be available for non licensed individuals or companies. The online permit system will no longer provide a means to purchase a permit as a non licensed contractor.
b. A non-licensed contractor may continue to log into the online permit system to request inspections for and view results of existing permits.
c. Shower pan liners will become the responsibility of the holder of the plumbing permit and are required to be installed, tested and accepted at the time of the rough plumbing inspection. The Colorado plumbing code requires shower pans to be installed by a license plumber or a homeowner (acting as a plumbing contractor for their own home).
d. Mobile and modular home plumbing connections must be permitted and installed by either a registered plumbing contractor or a home owner (acting as a plumbing contractor for their own home).
e. Mobile home contractors are not given the authority to make plumbing connections for water or sewer by either the Colorado plumbing code or the Department of Housing Regulations.
f. Gas pipe testing for mobile homes will continue as before.
2. A new log in portal will be added for gas pipe installers to purchase permits for gas piping only installations.
3. Separate permits will be issued for plumbing and gas piping installations.
4. Plumbing contractors or a homeowner (acting as a plumbing contractor for their own home) purchasing permits for the installation of: 1) plumbing, and 2) gas piping systems will be issued a separate permit number for each trade.
a. Only one base fee for both permits (plumbing and gas piping) will be charged when issued to a single plumbing contractor or homeowner;
b. Separate inspections for plumbing and gas piping will need to be requested when ready. Please read the plumbing permit online application carefully (after July 1st ) regarding new procedures and instructions.
Questions concerning these changes may be directed to:
Kye Lehr, Inspector Supervisor 303-894-2977 – email@example.com
Steve Conrad, Chief Inspector 303-894-2307 – firstname.lastname@example.org
Legislation passed during the Legislative Session impacts the Division of Professions and Occupations. Please review the program's Laws, Rules and Policies web page to learn of any changes due to legislation.
The Division is now called the Division of Professions and Occupations, effective August 8, 2012. To help our consumers and licensees more readily locate and utilize our services, the legislature passed House Bill 12-1055 during the 2012 legislative session. Please note, the Division of Professions and Occupations will still be housed within the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA). Services the Division currently offers will remain the same.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.