- About Us
- DORA Home
Consumer Protection is our Mission.
The Colorado State Physical Therapy Board regulates individual physical therapists and physical therapist assistants. The Board meets regularly to approve license/certification applications and enforce the rules, regulations, and practice act that governs the profession. The Board reviews complaints about physical therapists and physical therapist assistants and utilizes the Division’s Office of Investigations to investigate complaints when necessary. The Board is authorized to take disciplinary action against those who have violated the Physical Therapy Practice Act, Rules, and Regulations.
PT and PTA students that are verified by their respective schools as on course to graduate in 2014 will be able to sit for the national exam offered by FSBPT within 90 days of their graduation date. In order to do so you will need to complete and submit the "Application for Original License by Examination" and indicate in your application when you are scheduled to graduate, and make clear that you are applying to sit for the exam that is being offered within 90 days of your scheduled graduation date. Furthermore, it is important that you make sure as part of your application package for consideration your school submits a letter on your behalf from the Program Director, school registrar, or Dean to the Office of Licensing, indicating that you are on course to graduate (provide date of expected graduation) and that the school supports your candidacy to sit for the exam prior to graduation.
Upon graduating, have your school submit an official transcript showing a degree has been awarded to you, or an official transcript showing the coursework you completed along with a letter from your Program Director, school registrar, or Dean stating that you completed all program requirements with the date and degree awarded. Additionally, you will need a passing score on the national exam in order to be eligible for licensure once you have sat for the exam and graduated from school.
A referral by a physician is not necessary in order for care to be provided by a licensed physical therapist.
Senate Bill 11-169 passed in 2011 will require Colorado licensed Physical Therapists to demonstrate their continuing competency (CC) in order to renew or reinstate their license. The requirements do not apply to Physical Therapy Assistants. The program becomes effective on November 1, 2014; licensees will begin participating in CC after they renew their license in 2014. All new CC requirements must be met prior to renewing in 2016. The program is still in the implementation process and rulemaking will take place in 2014. All meetings are noticed on the Board’s website and are open to the public. Outreach to the profession will occur after rules are adopted in 2014. Licensees will be alerted of the program and its requirements through email updates, outreach events, the Board’s website, webinars or other methods.
Legislation passed during the Legislative Session impacts the Division of Professions and Occupations. Please review the program's Laws, Rules and Policies web page to learn of any changes due to legislation.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.