- About Us
- DORA Home
Consumer Protection is our Mission.
The State Board of Nursing is responsible for enforcing statutes, rules and policies as promulgated by the Nurse Practice Act, Nurse Aide Practice Act and the Licensed Psychiatric Technician Practice Act. The Board has staff overseeing education, licensing and enforcement of nurses, nurse aides and licensed psychiatric technicians. The State Board of Nursing oversees over 110,000 licensees. Colorado is a member of the Nurse Licensure Compact which allows nurses to practice in the state of Colorado on their home state privilege.
In an effort to improve both effectiveness and efficiency, the NCLEX will go “green” and transition to a completely paperless program. The list of current paper-based materials that will only be available electronically include:
• Authorization to Test (ATT) letter;
• NCLEX Examination Candidate Bulletin;
• “Eights Steps of the NCLEX” handout;
• Scan form registrations;
• Money order, certified check and cashier check payments; and
• “You’ve Completed the NCLEX but Still Have Questions” brochure.
Implementation for the paperless initiative will take place in the first quarter of 2014. Click here for more detailed information.
The Medication Aide Competency Examination has been updated and will be effective March 1, 2014. There are changes to the test online, proctor locations, and examination fees.
Click here for more detailed information on the changes.
Click here for the complete Candidate Handbook.
Fees for the nurse aide exam have increased as of September 1, 2013:
|EXAM LEVEL||Current Fee||New Fees,
Effective September 1, 2013
|Written and Skills together||$ 95.00||$ 123.00|
|Oral – English and Skills together||$ 95.00||$ 123.00|
|Oral – Spanish and Skills together||$ 95.00||$ 123.00|
|Written only||$ 25.00||$ 45.00|
|Oral – English only||$ 25.00||$ 45.00|
|Oral – Spanish only||$ 25.00||$ 45.00|
|Skills Only||$ 70.00||$ 78.00|
Please visit the Pearson VUE website for more details: www.pearsonvue.com and navigate to the Colorado Nurse Aide page.
If so, as DORA’s Division of Professions and Occupations Licensing Services continues to improve your experience, please be aware that in the current renewal online process you must renew your license and each authority separately (i.e., advanced practice; RXN). Failure to do so will result in not timely being renewed; deemed as practicing outside of your approved license and/or authority; and subjects you to potential discipline. We apologize in advance for any inconvenience you may experience in this renewal process, but we are making strides to improve our service to our consumers.
The Prescriptive Authority Application Instructions in section 12-38-111.6 of the Colorado Nurse Practice Act state the Preceptorship requirement as follows:
The preceptorship shall be conducted either (1) with a physician; or (2) a physician and an advanced practice nurse who has prescriptive authority and experience in prescribing medications. The physician and, if applicable, advanced practice nurse serving as a preceptor to the applicant shall be actively practicing in this state and shall have education, training, experience, and active practice that corresponds with the role and population focus of the applicant.
The Division is now called the Division of Professions and Occupations, effective August 8, 2012. To help our consumers and licensees more readily locate and utilize our services, the legislature passed House Bill 12-1055 during the 2012 legislative session. Please note, the Division of Professions and Occupations will still be housed within the Department of Regulatory Agencies (DORA). Services the Division currently offers will remain the same.
Carisoprodol, or brand product name Soma, became a Schedule IV Controlled Substance on January 11, 2012. Read implications for prescribers and pharmacies here.
Search Online Services
You may search ALISON to obtain information about licenses issued by the Division of Professions and Occupations.
NURSYS Verification (Nursys.com) - Free of Charge
Nursys.com contains data obtained directly from the licensure systems of participating boards of nursing. You may now verify licenses and receive a detailed report free of charge. The report will contain the name, jurisdiction, license type, license number, compact status (multistate/single state), license status, expiration date, discipline against the license and discipline against the privilege to practice of the RN or PN being verified.
Nurses requesting an official verification will complete the online Nursys verification process and pay the $30 per license type fee for each state board of nursing where an application for licensure is being submitted.
Please visit www.nursys.com for more information.
Nurse Licensure Compact
Licensure of a Registered Nurse or Licensed Practical/Vocational Nurse whose primary state of residence is a compact state other than Colorado may also be verified with the state of licensure. For a list of compact states with contact information, see Contacts for Nurse Licensure Compact.
The Nurse Licensure Compact requires that states clearly identify when a license is valid for practice only in the granting state. Licenses that are valid for practice only in Colorado are designated as ‘active single-state’ on the face of the license and also on ALISON. Licenses not identified as ‘single-state’ are multi-state (compact) licenses.
Legislation passed during the Legislative Session impacts the Division of Professions and Occupations. Please review the program's Laws, Rules and Policies web page to learn of any changes due to legislation.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.