Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Colorado Dental Board


Maulid Miskell, Program Director

Consumer Protection is our Mission.

The Colorado Dental Board regulates and licenses dentists and dental hygienists. The Board does not regulate or require the registration of dental assistants or expanded duty dental assistants. The Board also does not license based upon specialty. The mission of the Board is to safeguard the health, safety, and welfare of the people of Colorado by developing and maintaining rules and policies to ensure that only qualified persons are licensed to provide dental care and those violators of the laws and rules regulating dentistry are sanctioned as appropriate. Board activities include licensing dentists and dental hygienists, investigating complaints about the licensed and unlicensed practice of dentistry and dental hygiene, disciplining those who violate the law and/or the Board’s Rules and make, amend, and adopt reasonable rules and regulations governing the conduct of dentists and dental hygienists. This Board is made up of thirteen members: six dentists, three dental hygienists and three public members.

 

News Items

Recent Legislation

Did you know legislation passed during the 2014 Legislative Session impacts dentists and dental hygienists? 

Changes to the Dental Practice Act were signed into law affecting applications, anesthesia permits, and continuing education, just to name a few. Modifications to the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) were also recently signed into law.  Read more below about how those changes may impact your practice and what the Division is doing to implement those bills. 

-

HB14-1227 This bill continues the State Board of Dental Examiners (Board) until September 1, 2025, and implements several changes, including the terms of office for Board members, examination requirements, educational programs, grounds for discipline, and scope of practice among others. The extensive changes to this bill will require rulemaking addressing the use of lasers, prescriptions, continuing education requirements, anesthesia permits and peer assistance service self-referrals among others. In addition to rulemaking, implementation will require staffing, system, process and publication/form updates as well as extensive outreach. It is anticipated several rulemaking hearings will take place to implement the numerous changes and additions in this bill. The bill takes effect on July 1, 2014.  The changes to the Dental Practice Law of Colorado can be categorized as Administrative (requiring the Division of Professions and Occupations to update its forms, process, systems, etc) and rulemaking (requiring the Board to make changes or additions to existing rules including the design of two new programs for continuing education and anesthesia permits). Those changes entail:

Administrative:

  • The name of the Board will change from “State Board of Dental Examiners” to “Colorado Dental Board”
  • The name of Article 35 of Title 12 has been changed from the “Dental Practice Law of Colorado” to the “Dental Practice Act”
  • A jurisprudence exam is no longer required as part of an application
  • Exam results must be maintained for at least 1 year rather than 2 years
  • The Board no longer needs to send Letters of Admonition (LOA) by certified mail
  • The Board may suspend a licensee for failing to comply with an order
  • For complaints related to the standard of care delivered to a patient that are submitted by a person other than the patient, the person submitting the complaint must notify the patient of the complaint before filing the complaint with the Board, unless the complaint is submitted by a state department or agency
  • A person convicted of a felony in Colorado or any other state or of violating any laws governing the practice of dentistry is now eligible to be appointed to serve on the Board
  • The Division can now charge a fee for all anesthesia applications and not just at the deep/general level
  • What was Section 129 was broken into several parts: formerly Section 129 was titled “Causes for denial of issuance or renewal – suspension or revocation of licenses – other disciplinary action – unprofessional conduct defined – disciplinary panels – cease and desist.”   The new titles are: “Grounds for disciplinary action”, “Disciplinary actions”, “Disciplinary proceedings”, “Board panels”, “Cease-and-desist orders”, “Mental and physical examinations”, and “Confidential agreement to limit practice – violation – grounds for discipline”
     

Rulemaking:

  • The Board may accept other methodology to test an applicant’s clinical skills and knowledge, and is not limited to a regional exam
  • The Board no longer is required to maintain a rule regarding exam re-takes
  • New grounds for disciplinary action were created; including language to address physical or mental limitations and compliance with a confidential agreement, failing to respond to a complaint, violating infection control standards, administering moderate sedation or deep/general anesthesia without a qualified person present to administer, and failing to complete and maintain records of CE
  • Fining authority has been established
  • Inactive status created for dental hygienists
  • A retired dental hygienist may provide limited care
  • The Board is required to address the use of lasers
  • The anesthesia terminology was updated
  •  Dental hygienists have limited prescription and dispensing authority  
  •  Changes to the section dealing with construction of dental devises by unlicensed technician
  •  If a dentist is arrested for a drug or alcohol related offense, he/she must self-refer to PAS within 30 days after arrest
  • CE is now required for renewing, reactivating, or reinstating a dental and dental hygiene license*
  • Anesthesia inspection are now required for renewal of all moderate sedation and deep/general anesthesia permits, establishing fees designating qualified inspectors, mandatory CEs upon renewal for dentists, and a separate permit is required to be created for pediatric patients*

*Please note that the creation of a continuing education and anesthesia inspection program will require significant implementation efforts in creating these processes and will require additional staff support, rulemaking, and application and system updates.

Please click here to read the current laws, rules and policies for dentists and dental hygienists.
 

 

 

-

HB14-1283 makes the following several modifications to the electronic prescription drug monitoring program including:

• The dissemination of automatic reports to prescribers and pharmacies when a patient meets a defined threshold that takes into account the number of prescribers and pharmacies visited within a certain timeframe. Reports will start in September 2014.

• Allows a prescribing practitioner or a pharmacist to delegate authority to access the database to up to 3 designees acting for the practitioner or pharmacist, and requires each designee to register with the program under a sub-account of the practitioner or pharmacist. Delegated Access will start in January 2015.

• Requires prescribing practitioners and pharmacists to register and create user accounts with the program by a deadline established by the Director of the Division of Professions and Occupations.Those deadlines are:

• Pharmacists and DEA-registered Advanced Practice Nurses: September 30, 2014

• DEA-registered Dentists, Veterinarians, Optometrists and Podiatrists: October 31, 2014

• DEA-registered Medical Board licensees: November 30, 2014

• Allows the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE) to access data from the PDMP for public health research. CDPHE access will begin in the Fall 2014.

• Allows an out-of-state pharmacist to obtain Colorado PDMP data in connection with a current patient to whom the pharmacist is dispensing a controlled substance or is providing clinical patient care services. This ability to obtain such data is already available.

• Adds individual pharmacies as an eligible subject for information requests by law enforcement officials if the request for information is accompanied by a court order or subpoena beginning immediately.

• Allows federally owned and operated pharmacies to submit data to the database beginning immediately.

• Authorizes the executive director of the department of regulatory agencies to create a prescription drug monitoring program task force, or to request assistance from the team assembled by the governor's office to develop a plan to reduce prescription drug abuse, to study the program and make recommendations to the executive director on ways to ensure that the program is effective at reducing prescription drug abuse and misuse. The Executive Director has requested the Governor’s Consortium for Prescription Drug Abuse serve as the taskforce.

Together, these modifications to the PDMP will require updating the online PDMP system and notifying prescribers and dispensers as well as those who receive delegated access to the PDMP of the provisions of this bill.

 

You may be a Mandatory Reporter!

On May 16, 2013, Senate Bill 13-111 was signed by the Governor requiring the mandatory reporting of the abuse of at-risk adults. This law was further modified in 2014 and signed by the Governor on April 7, 2014 via Senate Bill 14-098. This law requires that beginning on July 1, 2014 all individuals listed as mandatory reporters must report suspected physical or sexual abuse, exploitation, and caretaker neglect to law enforcement within 24 hours of the observation of the mistreatment.

Further information and the list of mandatory reporters can be found on the Colorado Department of Human Services web site to include an online training on the reporting requirement.

 

DEA-registered Dentists must register with the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) by October 31, 2014

Pursuant to House Bill 14-1283 (now CRS 12-42.5-403), all Colorado licensed prescribing practitioners who possess an individual DEA registration and all Colorado licensed pharmacists are required to register an individual user account with Colorado's Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP).  

While all pharmacists and DEA-registered prescribing practitioners are encouraged to register a user account with the PDMP at anytime between now and before September 30th, the October 31, 2014, date is the official deadline.

To begin this process, please utilize the following link for more information about the PDMP and to begin creating a PDMP account. http://www.hidinc.com/copdmp
 
While account creation normally takes less than 5 minutes, should you have questions regarding how to register a PDMP account, please contact the PDMP Help Desk at 1-855-263-6403.

 

Timeline for Quad-Regulator Opioid Policy

To provide guidance to prescribers and dispensers of opioids, the Quad-Regulator Boards at DORA are collaborating to draft a joint policy as one part of a statewide solution to reduce prescription drug abuse and misuse.  The Quad-Regulator Boards include the Colorado Medical Board, the Colorado State Board of Nursing, the Colorado Board of Pharmacy, and the Colorado State Board of Dental Examiners, facilitated by the Nurse-Physician Advisory Task Force for Colorado Healthcare (NPATCH).  The development of a joint policy by multiple regulatory boards is a first, so the Quad-Regulators are committed to an open process and timeline that allows for full consideration of stakeholder views.  To view the policy that will be circulated for Board review and adoption, please click here. Comments and questions may be referred to Cory Everett at cory.everett@state.co.us.
 


PROCESS TIMELINE AS OF MAY 1, 2014

Summer 2013

Separately, Quad-Boards developed policies and/or principles for prescribing and dispensing opioids at Board meetings and stakeholder meetings.
 

September 2013

Quad-Regulator Conference: Quad Boards met jointly to consider separate policies plus policies from other jurisdictions.


Oct-Dec 2013

Quad-Board Presidents (or their delegates) worked together to merge the four separate policies and practices from other jurisdictions and created first draft of Joint Policy.

January 2014

Legal and science review of draft policy.

February 2014

Draft policy dated 2/20.  Medical Board meetings 2/20 and 2/25.

March 2014

Revised draft dated 3/3.  Pharmacy Board meeting 3/20.  Quad-Stakeholder meeting 3/24.


April 2014

Quad-Board Presidents (or their delegates) worked together to incorporate comments.  Revised draft dated 4/3.  Quad-Stakeholder meeting 4/16.  Dental Board meeting 4/16.  Nursing Board meeting 4/22.

 

PROCESS AHEAD 

May 2014

Quad-Board Presidents (or their delegates) to work together to incorporate comments.  Revised draft anticipated by 5/16.  Medical Board meeting 5/22.  Quad-Stakeholder meeting anticipated week of 5/26.

June 2014

Deadline for comments on revised draft policy 6/6.  NPATCH meeting 6/6.  Quad-Board Presidents (or their delegates) work together to incorporate comments.  Anticipated first Board vote on policy -- Medical 6/19.
 

July 2014

Anticipated Board votes on policy -- Pharmacy 7/17, Nursing 7/22, and Dental 7/24.
 

 

Legislation passed during the Legislative Session impacts the Division of Professions and Occupations. Please review the program's Laws, Rules and Policies web page to learn of any changes due to legislation.

 
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.

Connect

facebook twitter

Contact

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350, Denver, CO 80202 Email
(303) 894-7800 - Phone (303) 894-7693 - Fax