- About Us
- DORA Home
House Bill 09-1136 enacts new training requirements for apprentices registered on or after January 1, 2011 and who are seeking a Journeyman license. Apprentices registering on or after January 1, 2011 must complete existing criteria and an additional 288 hours of training prior to taking the exam. The 288 hours of training must be in: safety; National Electric Code and applications, and; any other accredited/approved Board requirements.
Public Information Sessions were held to review the changes, including an online Webinar held in December 2010. View the modified version of the Power Point Presentation pertaining to an Apprentice and Answers to Questions submitted during the Webinar.
Any individual interested in becoming an electrical apprentice should ask their employer (a registered electrical contractor) about their apprentice training program and registration.
Apprentice Registration and Employment Termination
The registration of an apprentice with the State Board is required in the electrical laws. Once an apprentice begins working for an electrical contractor, the employer must complete an application to register the apprentice with the board. After the initial registration, a card with a registration number is given to the apprentice. This number will remain the same through any employment changes. The apprentice is responsible to have the card with them while working at the trade. Failure to do so may result in disciplinary action.
An electrical contractor is required to register an apprentice with the Board within thirty days and notify the board after an apprentice terminates their employment with the company within thirty days. This is done by submitting either a registration or termination application to the board. NOTE: The application to register an apprentice and terminate employment is the same application. There is no fee incurred to notify the Board that an apprentice has been terminated from the company. Please refer to § 12-23-110.5(3) (a) of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
The electrical contractor is responsible to comply with the law regarding registration and licensing requirements of their employees.
The holder of a residential wireman's license may work without direct supervision on projects of one, two, three, and four-family dwellings. However, a licensed residential wireman must be registered as an electrical apprentice and be supervised by a licensed journeyman or master electrician when performing commercial/industrial work, or working on a residential project of more than four-family units (apartment buildings).
Please refer to section 12-23-105 (2) of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
Colorado law requires that the electrical apprentice be directly supervised by a licensed Colorado electrician. Please refer to section 12-23-110.5(1) of the Colorado Revised Statutes.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.