- Consumer Assistance
- Renew or Apply for a License
- About Us
- DORA Home
We're redesigning the DORA website, and we need your help. Please take our survey now!
Physician Assistants may not hold an ACTIVE license to practice unless a primary supervising physician (PSP) is registered with the Board, as required by Colorado Medical Board Rule 400. Failure to register a primary supervising physician prior to beginning practice is a violation of this Rule and is grounds for referral to the Board for further review. Secondary supervising physicians are not required to be registered with the Board.
If a physician assistant has obtained a primary physician supervisor and submitted the registration form prior to the approval of their application for licensure, the primary supervising physician will be registered at the time of licensure and an active license will be issued.
If a physician assistant does not have a primary supervising physician prior to the approval of their application for licensure, the license will be issued in an ACTIVE-Pending supervisor registration status. A physician assistant is allowed by Board Policy 20-9 to remain in a pending status for 180 days. If the physician assistant does not register a primary supervising physician within 180 days, the license will convert to an INACTIVE status. No refund of licensure/application fees will be issued if the physician assistant fails to register a primary supervising physician within 180 days. A physician assistant in an inactive status must then submit for approval, an application for reactivation and the reactivation fee.
To register a new primary supervising physician, use the Primary Supervising Physician Registration Form and check the option, "THIS IS A NEW REGISTRATION OF A PRIMARY SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN."
If a physician assistant practices with more than one employer, paid or volunteer, they must have a primary supervising physician registered for every employer. There is no limit to the number of primary supervising physicians a physician assistant may have.
To register an additional primary supervising physician, use the Primary Supervising Physician Registration Form and check the option, "THIS IS AN ADDITIONAL PRIMARY SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN."
If a physician assistant has changed employers, needs to rescind the previous primary supervising physician, and then needs to register the new primary supervising physician, use the Primary Supervising Physician Registration Form and check the option, "THIS IS A CHANGE OF PRIMARY SUPERVISING PHYSICIAN, REPLACING DR ________ (insert name of rescinded physician)."
If the relationship between a primary supervising physician and physician assistant has terminated, either the primary supervising physician or physician assistant must rescind the relationship in writing. The letter of rescission should be addressed to the Colorado Medical Board.
Please review our list of Frequently Asked Questions for quick answers and email information.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.