Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Barbers, Cosmetologists, Estheticians, Hairstylists, Manicurists


Licensing Services

Barbers, Cosmetologists, Estheticians,
Hairstylists, and Manicurists 

Effective January 1, 2014, Pearson VUE will no longer administer Colorado Office of Barber and Cosmetology Licensure exams. PSI will begin administering the exams starting January 2, 2014. Candidates can begin scheduling their exams and submitting applications to PSI on December 16, 2013; candidates are able to schedule exams online at: https://candidate.psiexams.com/ or by calling 1-800-733-9267. Please note - the PSI call center will not be operational until December 16, 2013.

Definitions 

  • License by Examination: You are applying to take an examination in order to qualify for licensure in Colorado. Applicants must apply through the PSI website.
  • License by Endorsement: You hold an active, valid license in another state and wish to apply for licensure in Colorado.
  • License by Endorsement: Foreign-Trained Applicant:  You were educated outside the United States and you hold an active, valid license in another country. You must have your credentials reviewed by an approved credentialing agency.
  • Renew: You currently hold a Colorado license and are in a renewal period.
  • Reinstate:  Your Colorado license has expired and you wish to reinstate the license. 

 

Which type of application should I use?

  • Click here to learn which type of application to use.

 

Forms

Application for License by Examination

Application for License by Endorsement

Application for License by Endorsement: Foreign-Trained Applicant

Application for Multiple Licenses

Felony Monitoring Information Form

Application to Reinstate an Expired License

 

Felony Conviction Form

 

 

License Expiration Grace Period for New Applicants.

  • Barber, Esthetician, Hairstylist, and Manicurist licenses expire on March 31 of even-numbered years and must be renewed to continue practicing.

    All new applicants who are issued a license within 120 days of the upcoming renewal expiration date will be issued a license with the subsequent expiration date. For example, licenses issued between December 1, 2013 and March 31, 2014 will expire March 31, 2016. Licenses issued prior to December 1, 2013 will expire March 31, 2014 and must renew in the upcoming renewal period.
     
  • Cosmetologist licenses expire on April 30 of either odd-numbered years or even-numbered years, are dependent upon the issuance date, and must be renewed to continue practicing.

    All new applicants who are issued a license within 120 days of the upcoming renewal expiration date will be issued a license with the subsequent expiration date. For example, licenses issued between January 1, 2013 and April 30, 2013 will expire April 30, 2015. Licenses issued prior to January 1, 2013 will expire April 30, 2013 and must renew in the upcoming renewal period.

 

Still have questions?

Please review our list of Frequently Asked Questions for quick answers and email information.

 

Stay Informed!

Sign up for e-mail updates from the Division. You may update your e-mail address using Online Services.

 
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.

Connect

facebook twitter

Contact

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350, Denver, CO 80202 Email
(303) 894-7800 - Phone (303) 894-7693 - Fax