Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Professionals (Applications & Forms)


Licensing Services

Social Workers 


Definitions

  • Original License by Examination:  You are applying to take an examination in order to qualify for licensure in Colorado.
    LSW: You need to complete your post-degree supervised experience.
    LCSW: You have completed your post-degree supervised experience and wish to be licensed at a clinical level.
     
  • Original License by Endorsement:  You hold an active license in another state and wish to apply for licensure in Colorado.
    LSW: You may apply for LSW by endorsement if you wish to practice at the master's level, and/or need to complete post-degree supervised experience.
    LCSW: You may apply for LCSW by endorsement if licensed to practice at the clinical/independent level in another state.
     
  • Renew:  You currently hold a Colorado license and are in a renewal period.
  • Reinstate:  Your Colorado license has expired and you wish to reinstate the license. 

 

Forms

Application for Licensed Social Worker by Examination

Application for Licensed Clinical Social Worker by Examination

Application to Reinstate an Expired License

Application for Licensed Social Worker by Endorsement

Application for Licensed Clinical Social Worker by Endorsement

Model Mandatory Disclosure Form

Application to Change Status from Active to Inactive

Application to Reactivate an Inactive License

Provisional Licensure

Post-Degree Experience and Supervision Form

Online Jurisprudence Examination

Jurisprudence Examination Overview

 

For Jurisprudence Examination resources, visit Laws, Rules and Policies.
 

As of November 2012, the Mental Health Jurisprudence Examination is administered online. The fee for the examination will be $18.00 and will be administered by a third-party vendor. Please click on the Online Jurisprudence Examination link above to access the exam.


License Expiration Grace Period for New Applicants. All new applicants who are issued a license within 120 days of the upcoming renewal expiration date will be issued a license with the subsequent expiration date. For example, licenses issued between May 1, 2013 and August 31, 2013 will reflect a license expiration date of August 31, 2015. Licenses issued prior to May 1, 2013 will reflect an expiration date of August 31, 2013 and must renew in the upcoming renewal period.
 

License Renewal Information. All Social Worker licenses expire on August 31 of odd-numbered years and must be renewed to continue practicing.
 

 

Test Accommodations

The Division of Professions and Occupations provides test accommodations to applicants with disabilities in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), including changes made by the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 (ADAAA). To submit a request for accommodations, please complete the Test Accommodations Request Form provided in the link below and return it and the documentation requested in Part II of the Form with your application materials.

 

Still have questions?

Please review our list of Frequently Asked Questions for quick answers and email information.

 

Stay Informed!

Sign up for e-mail updates from the Division. You may update your e-mail address using Online Services.

 
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.

Connect

facebook twitter

Contact

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350, Denver, CO 80202 Email
(303) 894-7800 - Phone (303) 894-7693 - Fax