Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Professionals (Applications & Forms)


Licensing Services

Psychologists 

Definitions

  • Original License by Examination: You are applying to take an examination in order to qualify for licensure in Colorado.
  • Original License by Endorsement:  You hold an equivalent license in another state and wish to apply for licensure in Colorado.
  • Renew:  You currently hold a Colorado license and are in a renewal period.
  • Reinstate:   Your Colorado license has lapsed or expired and you wish to reinstate the license. 
  • PSY Candicate Registration: You are applying for a temporary permit, in order to have your education reviewed for equivalency and/or to complete the required post degree supervised experience for a Psychologist Licensure in Colorado.  A PSY Candidate permit will NOT be issued until your education is approved.


Forms

PSY Candidate Registration (Temporary Permit)

Application for Original License by Examination

Application for Original License by Endorsement

Application to Reinstate an Expired License

Post-Degree Experience and Supervision Form

Model Mandatory Disclosure Form

Provisional Licensure

Jurisprudence Examination Overview

Online Jurisprudence Examination

Education equivalency documents must be submitted unbound (no notebooks, binders or hard bound books) in an electronic PDF file.

For Jurisprudence Examination resources, visit Laws, Rules and Policies.
 

SEPARATE APPLICATION FOR CANDIDATE REGISTRATION

Beginning April 15, 2013, the Candidate Registration (temporary permit) for LPC, MFT, and PSY candidates will be a separate application. The fee for the temporary permit will be $80.00, and upon approval and issuance of the LPC, MFT, or PSY Candidate Registration temporary permit, candidates may practice psychotherapy while accruing post degree supervised experience (PDSE) hours for licensure. Candidates will be required to comply with all the requirements outlined in the candidate applications including review by the appropriate board for any "yes" answers for screening questions and approval for education and education equivalency. Candidates are not required to be registered as a Registered Psychotherapist, and are regulated by the specific Board for their profession. After a candidate has completed the required hours for licensure, they must submit a separate application and fee to obtain licensure.

License Expiration Grace Period for New Applicants. All new applicants who are issued a license within 120 days of the upcoming renewal expiration date will be issued a license with the subsequent expiration date. For example, licenses issued between May 1, 2013 and August 31, 2013 will reflect a license expiration date of August 31, 2015. Licenses issued prior to May 1, 2013 will reflect an expiration date of August 31, 2013 and must renew in the upcoming renewal period.
 

License Renewal Information. All Psychologist licenses expire on August 31 of odd-numbered years and must be renewed to continue practicing.

 

Test Accommodations

The Division of Professions and Occupations provides test accommodations to applicants with disabilities in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), including changes made by the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 (ADAAA). To submit a request for accommodations, please complete the Test Accommodations Request Form provided in the link below and return it and the documentation requested in Part II of the Form with your application materials.

 

Still have questions?

Please review our list of Frequently Asked Questions for quick answers and email information.

 

Stay Informed!

Sign up for e-mail updates from the Division. You may update your e-mail address using Online Services.

 
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.

Connect

facebook twitter

Contact

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350, Denver, CO 80202 Email
(303) 894-7800 - Phone (303) 894-7693 - Fax