- Consumer Assistance
- Renew or Apply for a License
- About Us
- DORA Home
We're redesigning the DORA website, and we need your help. Please take our survey now!
Original Physical Therapist License (PTL) by Examination: You are applying to take an examination in order to qualify for licensure in Colorado, and you were educated within the United States.
Original Physical Therapist License (PTL) by Examination: Foreign-Trained Applicant: You are applying to take an examination in order to qualify for licensure in Colorado, you were educated outside the United States, and you do not currently hold an active physical therapy license in the United States.
Original Physical Therapist License (PTL) by Endorsement: You hold an active license in another state or jurisdiction in the United States and wish to apply for licensure in Colorado.
Provisional Physical Therapist Licensure (PTLP): You have graduated from a program that at the time of graduation was accredited by the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE) or a program approved by the State Physical Therapy Board as being equivalent to the entry-level education and training required at a CAPTE program, but have not yet taken the National Physical Therapy Exam (NPTE).
Renew: You currently hold a Colorado license that is up for renewal and you wish to keep it active.
Reinstate: Your Colorado license has expired and you wish to activate the license.
Reactivate: You placed your Colorado license in inactive status and you wish to activate the license.
Those wishing to apply for an original provisional physical therapist license (PTLP) must now do so using the online system. Please use the link below to be directed to Online Services. Upon your first visit, you must register an account with the Division.
A person who holds a PTLP may ONLY practice under the supervision of a physical therapist (PTL) actively licensed in Colorado. A provisional license issued expires 120 days after the date it was issued, and may only be issued one time and cannot be renewed or reinstated. For more information, please review Rules 215 and 202.C.3 available through the Laws, Rules and Policies link on the State Physical Therapy Board webpage.
|Application to Change Status from Active to Inactive||ONLINE Application for Provisional Physical Therapist License|
License Expiration Grace Period for New Applicants. All new applicants who, except those applying for a PTLP, are issued a license within 120 days of the upcoming renewal expiration date will be issued a license with the subsequent expiration date. For example, licenses issued between July 1, 2016 and October 31, 2016 will reflect a license expiration date of October 31, 2018. Licenses issued prior to July 1, 2016 will reflect an expiration date of October 31, 2016 and must renew in the upcoming renewal period.
License Expiration for Provisional Physical Therapists. All applicants who are issued a provisional license will have that license expire no later than 120 days after the date it was issued, or a regular license to practice physical therapy is issued to the licensee, whichever occurs first. A provisional license may only be issued one time and cannot be renewed or reinstated.
License Renewal Information. All Colorado physical therapist licenses, except for PTLPs, expire on October 31 of even-numbered years and must be renewed to continue practicing.
The Division of Professions and Occupations provides test accommodations to applicants with disabilities in accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA), including changes made by the ADA Amendments Act of 2008 (ADAAA). To submit a request for accommodations, please complete the Test Accommodations Request Form provided in the link below and return it and the documentation requested in Part II of the Form with your application materials.
Please review our list of Frequently Asked Questions for quick answers and email information.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.