- Consumer Assistance
- Renew or Apply for a License
- About Us
- DORA Home
We're redesigning the DORA website, and we need your help. Please take our survey now!
Anyone interested in helping members of the public buy or sell real property in Colorado, must complete a minimum of 168 hours of pre-licensing education and pass both the state and national portion of the Colorado Real Estate Broker Exam. The pre-licensing education must be received through either a nationally accredited community college or university OR a school approved by the Colorado Department of Private and Occupational Schools (DPOS).
The 168 hours of pre-licensing education is comprised of mandatory courses required by the Colorado Real Estate Commission (Commission). The mandatory courses will prepare an applicant to pass the state and national portion of the real estate broker examination. Click on each course below for a course outline.
The pre-licensing education and examination requirements vary for applicants who hold a real estate broker license in another state or jurisdiction or for those who are licensed attorneys. To determine the education and examination requirements for a new Colorado broker license, download and review the information within the license qualifications grid. This grid will help you determine your educational requirements.
This course is a required course for associate or independent level brokers who want to upgrade to the employing broker level.
Course Objective: To provide a refresher course on Commission approved contracts, Colorado real estate regulations and to review the most current material included in the Colorado Annual Update Course.
Click here for a list of education providers that provide the pre-licensure education.
Once you have completed the required education requirement (if applicable), it is time to schedule your exam. The current exam vendor for the Colorado Division of Real Estate is PSI. To make an exam reservation, please visit PSI's website or call PSI's Candidate Care Center at (800) 733-9267. Commission rules require that only qualified applicants may sit for the exam, and you will be required to sign an affidavit of exam eligibility at the exam site.
Please note that you must submit your new license application within one year of the successful completion of your examination requirement. Your application must be received by the Division of Real Estate prior to the one year anniversary of the successful completion of each portion of your exam.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.