Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Continuing Competency

Continuing Competency Program Overview

Per section 12-23-106(4)(d)(II), C.R.S.,  electricians  shall demonstrate continuing competency in order to renew, reinstate or reactivate their license on or after January 1, 2011. The affected license types are:
•    Residential Wireman
•    Journeyman Electrician
•    Master Electrician

Continuing Competency (CC) is an individualized program created to help licensees assess their professional work, identify areas of growth and stay current with the profession. The Colorado approach to Continuing Competency for electricians has three components:
1.    An Individual Assessment of knowledge and skills (CC Assessment);
2.    A Learning Plan containing Professional Development Units (PDU) designated to obtain required knowledge and skills; and
3.    Documentation of PDUs to demonstrate compliance.

The CC program requires licensees demonstrate 24 Professional Development Units (PDUs) in order to renew a license. An electrician may be awarded up to 24 PDUs for his/her performance on the CC Assessment. If you are awarded fewer than 24 PDUs,  you will need to execute a Learning Plan to accrue PDUs prior to the next license renewal. The electrical renewal cycles occur every three years to coincide with the National Electric Code (NEC) updates. Generally, the renewal period will open in mid-August and remain open through November of renewal years. Licensees who are not renewed during that time will lapse on December 1st.


Click on the + to expand the information
 

 
-
 

All Residential Wiremen, Journeyman Electricians and Master Electricians are required to take an individual assessment of core competencies (CC Assessment) based on the most current National Electric Code (NEC). Any assigned Professional Development Units (PDU) from the CC Assessment must be completed and documented online before the end of the next renewal/assessment period. 
 
The Continuing Competency Assessment is administered by Pearson VUE.   You will have 60 minutes to answer 26 multiple-choice questions. It is divided into four core competencies:
1.    Grounding and Bonding
2.    Code Changes
3.    Wiring Methods
4.    Theory and Calculations

Dually licensed individuals only need to take the CC Assessment once for the highest level license held.

-
 

The 2014 CC Assessment will be available on July 1, 2014. To schedule an assessment date and time, contact Pearson VUE online at www.pearsonvue.com/co/electricians/ or call (800) 275-8244, option 6. Please request the “Colorado Electrician’s Continuing Competency Assessment” (the CC Assessment is different than the licensing examination).

The CC Assessment fee is paid to Pearson VUE when scheduling an assessment date and time.  The CC Assessment fee for renewals is:
July 1 - August 15, 2014                 $30.00
August 16 - October 15, 2014         $45.00
October 16 - November 30, 2014   $60.00

The assessment is open book, but Pearson VUE will NOT provide NEC Code Books. If you choose to bring your own copy of the NEC Code Book and/or NEC Handbook, please ensure there are no notes inside the book and the tabs are "commercially ordered."  You may also bring an Ohm’s Law Wheel. Download Pearson VUE's "Candidate Handbook for Examination and Assessment"  for important information on preparing for and taking the CC Assessment, including what to bring on the day of your reservation.

-

If you score below the Acceptable Level of Performance (ALP) on the Continuing Competency Assessment (CC Assessment), you will be assigned Professional Development Units (PDU) to be completed in that category. After renewing your license, and before your next renewal, you must complete continuing competency activities to meet the number of PDUs assigned. Completed PDUs must be logged in the online CC system. Click on the “CC Portal” tab on the left bar to access the online CC system.

One Professional Development Unit (PDU) is equal to 50 minutes of active learning. Therefore, 8 PDUs would equate to 6.67 hours of active learning.
 

-

 Professional Development Units (PDU) are assigned based on individual scores of the Continuing Competency Assessment (CC Assessment). A performance rating will be assigned in each of the Core Competencies. Licensees are required to achieve 24 PDUs per assessment/renewal cycle. 

  • If a rating at or above the Acceptable Level of Performance (ALP) is assessed in all the Core Competency areas, the licensee will be awarded 24 PDUs. In this instance, you are not required to complete any PDUs.
     
  • A rating below the Acceptable Level of Performance (ALP) will indicate an area for professional development.
     
  • If awarded fewer than 24 PDUs, you will need to execute a Learning Plan and complete the assigned PDUs prior to the next license renewal.
     
  • If you receive a rating below ALP in one core competency, you will be required to complete 8 PDUs in that one core competency.
     
  • If you receive a rating below ALP in two core competencies, you will be required to complete 16 PDUs in those core competencies.
     
  • If you receive a rating below ALP in three or more core competencies, you will be required to complete 24 PDUs addressing three of the core competencies.
     
  • Completed PDUs must be logged in the online CC system. 
     

Categories with a zero on the Pearson VUE score report indicate that you met the Acceptable Level of Performance (ALP) for that category and no PDUs were assigned. An 8 on the score report indicates that you did not obtain the ALP in that category so 8 PDUs have been assigned in order for you to meet the full 24 PDUs, an 8 in two areas (total of 16) indicates that you did not obtain the ALP so 16 PDUs (8 PDU in each category) have been assigned to you, etc.

 
-

The Colorado Electrical Board does not pre-approve courses or providers for the Continuing Competency program and does not maintain any “lists” of continuing education courses or providers. Statements made by vendors advertising courses as “DORA” or “Board Approved” are false. It is incumbent upon the licensee to ensure that a learning activity or course meets the criteria established by the Board.

To find professional development activities, contact local schools and colleges, industry associations, reputable continuing education providers, etc.

 

-

The Board deems the following types of activities to be acceptable. (Online participation in training programs or courses may be acceptable if in compliance with Board criteria):

  • Not-for credit academic course
  • For-credit academic course
  • Industry training program

When shopping for PDU credit, licensees should ensure the activity meets the following criteria:

  1. Include technical and practical applications which impact Core Competency areas identified by the Board;
  2. Improve, expand or enhance the quality of the licensee’s existing technical knowledge; or develop new and relevant professional skills and knowledge;
  3. Have clear purposes and objectives;
  4. Be well-organized and provide evidence of pre-planning;
  5. Be current and presented by qualified and technically competent instructors; and
  6. Provide certificates of completion or other documentation for the licensee and maintain records of licensee attendance.
-

The Board deems the following types of activities as not acceptable:
 

  1. Serving on federal, state, or municipal boards or commissions;
  2. Rendering pro bono services;
  3. Faculty at college, university, or other educational institution shall not receive credit for teaching their regularly-assigned courses beyond the initial class;
  4. Participation on a public, professional, or technical society board;
  5. Attendance at licensing or registration board meetings or any other professionally relevant board or committee meeting; or,
  6. Participating in or attending exhibit poster sessions and tradeshows.

 

-

Completion of Professional Development Units (PDU) must be documented online in your Learning Plan using the online CC system. This step must be completed before a license can be renewed. Go to www.dora.state.co.us/pls/cproweb/CPRO.Logon or the “CC Portal” tab on the left bar to access the CC system.
 
In the CC system, you will:
•    Create a secure user account to manage your Continuing Competency;
•    Access your CC Assessment scores;
•    View your Learning Plan; and
•    Log completion of PDUs.

(First time users will create a Logon ID and password. Use the “Password Finder” feature if you have forgotten your Logon ID and/or password. This will email a copy of your Logon ID and password to the email address on record in the system.)

-

When completing continuing competency activities, all licensees must retain documentation, to include certificates of completion, for 7 years.

Do not send certificates of completion unless you are specifically instructed to do so.
  Audits of compliance will be conducted by the Continuing Competency Program and if you are selected to participate in an audit, you will be notified in writing. Only at that time will certificates of completion and documentation be sent to the Electrical Board or Continuing Competency Program. 

Documentation, at a minimum, shall contain the following information:
a.    Licensee name;
b.    Activity type;
c.    Activity location and date(s);
d.    Activity title and description of content and objectives;
e.    Name and contact information of the sponsor or Continuing Competency provider (e.g. organization, institution, association, employer, vendor, publication);
f.    Instructor or speaker name, as applicable;
g.    Monitor/Facilitator/Mentor name and contact information, as applicable;
h.    Certificate of Completion;
I.    Number of classroom hours or PDUs.
 

 
-

In preparation for renewing your license, complete your CC requirements now:

  1. Complete continuing competency activities for PDUs assigned on the previous CC Assessment,
  2. Log completion of PDUs assigned on the previous CC Assessment in the online CC System, and
  3. After July 1, 2014, take the current Individual Assessment of knowledge and skills (CC Assessment) based on the current NEC. 

You will renew your license online through DORA’s Online Services. Renewal will open approximately 6 weeks before the expiration date of a license, this will be approximately mid to late August 2014. Please make sure your mailing and email address are current in Online Services so that you can receive notification when the renewal is open.

If you have not logged into your Online Services account since July 1, 2012, you will need to create a new User ID and password. View printable instructions and training videos for using Online Services here.

The CC system and Online Services are in two separate systems. You will have a separate Logon ID and password for each system. To access the CC system, click on the “CC Portal” tab on the left bar of this page.

 

-

For more information and resources about the CC program, click on the “Program Manual and Other Resources” tab on the left menu of this page.

Licensees shall also review the Electrical Board statute, rules and policies,. To access Electrical Board statute, rules and policies, click on the “Laws, Rules and Policies” tab on the left menu of this page. Of particular interest will be Electrical Board Rule 6.4 as it specifically addresses the Electrical Board’s Continuing Competency Program.
 

 

Stay Informed!

Sign up for e-mail updates from the Division. You may update your e-mail address using Online Services.

 
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.

Connect

facebook twitter

Contact

1560 Broadway, Suite 1350, Denver, CO 80202 Email
(303) 894-7800 - Phone (303) 894-7693 - Fax