- Consumer Assistance
- Renew or Apply for a License
- About Us
- DORA Home
We're redesigning the DORA website, and we need your help. Please take our survey now!
On July 1, 2006, Senate Bill 06-020 became law, allowing the State Board of Nursing to enter into a multi-state nurse licensure compact. The bill establishes relationships between participating states in the areas of licensure, discipline, and information sharing.
Colorado's Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) became effective on October 1, 2007. The Nurse Licensure Compact (NLC) is an agreement between states to recognize each others' licensees. This model of mutual recognition was developed by the National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCSBN) to facilitate interstate practice and regulation, allowing a nurse to have one license issued by his or her state of residence and practice in other states participating in the NLC.
Twenty-four (24) states belong to the NLC. They are: Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
The NLC includes RN and LPN licensure only. LPN IV Authority, Advanced Practice, and Prescriptive Authorization must be obtained in each state of practice.
NLC 30/90 day implementation table: www.ncsbn.org//nlc.htm#moving
The NLC model rules were updated in November 2012 changing the time frame for a nurse to obtain a license in a new home state. Check this table for information on which states have implemented the new 90-day rule.
NLC Model Rules & Regulations for RN’s and LPN/VN:
For NLC related questions or concerns please contact the Nurse License Compact Administrator with the Colorado State Board of Nursing.