Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Frequently Asked Questions

 

The PUC receives these common inquiries from consumers of utility services and from  providers of utilities services.  These services may or may not be regulated by the Public Utilities Commission.  See also our Consumer FYI Publications of information brochures.

 

Procedures

 

Proceeding Process

 

Electric & Gas Consumer

A

Yes, after appropriate notice, any utility can be disconnected for non-payment. However, there are assistance programs that may be able to help. Please call your utility company and ask about its assistance program, or call the PUC Consumer Affairs at 303-894-2070 or 1-800-456-0858.

A

Call 1-800-895-4999 or visit www.XcelEnergy.com.

A

Visit the Colorado Department of Human Services website at http://www.colorado.gov/cs/Satellite/CDHS-SelfSuff/CBON/1251585703329 or call Heat Help at 1-866-432-8435.

A

Generally, utilities must give you at least 15 days from the bill date to the payment due date.

 

Telephone Consumer

 
A

No. Broadband (high-speed Internet service) is not a regulated/required service.

A

Customers must apply through their telecom provider of choice. Information about eligibility and participating companies is available at www.lifelinesupport.org, as well as www.fcc.gov/lifeline.

A

You may register for the Colorado No Call list at www.coloradonocall.com (303-776-2678 or 1-800-309-7041) or the National Do Not Call list at www.donotcall.gov (1-888-383-1222).

 

Cable /Satellite TV Consumer

A

These services are not regulated by the State. An agency like the Better Business Bureau may be of assistance.

 

Towing Consumer

A

A towing company may charge up to $160 for a non-consensual tow plus mileage (variable depending on gas price), storage ($30 per day for vehicles under 10,000 pounds) and after-hours charges ($66 if retrieved after 5 p.m.  Monday-Friday, or anytime on a weekend/holiday). A typical non-consensual tow will likely be around $300.

A

A towing company may charge up to $70 for a drop (release) fee.

A

There is currently no State law/rule requiring signage on private property.

A

Yes. On private property, your car can be towed immediately if you do not have permission to park there. This is true whether or not there are any signs.

 

Transportation Provider

A

On-line insurance filings may be made at www.dora.state.co.us/pls/real/PUC_INS_Web.Logon.

A

Utility Self-Service Procedures pdf file for online puchase of  stamps online and for making address changes.

Connect

facebook twitter

Contact

1560 Broadway, Suite 250, Denver, CO 80202
(303) 894-2000 - Phone (800) 888-0170 - Permits and Insurance (800) 456-0858 - Consumer Assistance (303) 894-2065 - Fax