Text Size
Increase text size
Increase text size

Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions

1. When did Relay Colorado services begin?
In 1989, the Colorado Legislature granted the Commission for Disabled Telephone Users the authority to establish a statewide telecommunication relay service (TRS). In 1992, the Legislature transferred the relay program to the Colorado Public Utilities Commission (PUC) and eliminated the Commission for Disabled Telephone Users.
2. How is Relay Colorado TRS funded?
The Colorado Relay program is funded by a monthly surcharge that is charged to all residential and business access lines.
3. When is Relay Colorado operational?
Relay Colorado is available to users 24-hours a day, 365 days a year. There are no restrictions on the number or length or type of calls.
4. Who administers the Relay Colorado program?
The PUC is responsible for the administration of the program. The administrator is Joe Benedetto.
5. Which company is the service provider for Relay Colorado?
The current state contract for providing Relay Colorado services was awarded to AT &T Corporation after a competitive bidding process.
6. Are relay conversations confidential?
Federal law mandates that all relay conversations are kept confidential and that no records be kept.
7. How much does it cost to use Relay Colorado?
There is no extra charge to use Relay Colorado. Long distance relay calls may be billed to a user's preferred long distance provider or if a specific company is not identified, the call will be billed to the user though Relay Colorado's provider, AT & T Corporation.
8. How do I access Relay Colorado or relay services in another state?
Simply dial 711 for easy access in Colorado or any other state.
9. What are other important telephone numbers to use for various Relay Colorado TRS?

Voice Calls
1-800-659-3656
TTY Calls
1-800-659-2656
Spanish Calls
1-800-676-4290
ASCII Calls
1-800-659-4656
VCO Calls*
1-877-659-8260
Speech-to-Speech Calls
1-877-659-4279
* Voice carry-over or VCO calls allow a deaf or hard-of-hearing person to use their voice to speak directly to a hearing person
 

Connect

facebook twitter

Contact

1560 Broadway, Suite 250, Denver, CO 80202
(303) 894-2000 - Phone (800) 888-0170 - Permits and Insurance (800) 456-0858 - Consumer Assistance (303) 894-2065 - Fax