- About Us
- DORA Home
Certification of motor carrier insurance coverage is only accepted through the Commission's online system and must be filed directly by the insurance company. Generally, the insurance company underwriter has been designated by the insurance company to log on to our system to make these filings.
An insurance company cannot make a filing online for a carrier until the carrier's application has been entered by PUC staff into our system. The company name should be in our system by its legal name that matches the company's trade name. If no trade name, use the business name that is on file with the Secretary of State. To verify a trade name or business name for a motor carrier, go to the Colorado Secretary of State's website at: www.sos.state.co.us/biz/BusinessEntityCriteriaExt.do
Insurance company representatives, use this link to certify the insurance for transportation permit holders in Colorado. (After logging on, perform a search for the company name.)
NOTE: Effective February 14, 2014, the insurance minimum for vehicles that seat 15 or fewer passengers has increased to $1,500,000. The minimum has not changed for vehicles that seat more than 16 passengers; it remains $5,000,000.
2014 vehicle stamps may be purchased online at http://www.dora.state.co.us/pls/real/USS_Web.Logon?p_service=STAMPS. The stamp fee is $5.00 per stamp. (When stamps are purchased online, the credit card fee is waived.)
Carriers can log in to update contact information from the same system.
To purchase 2014 stamps for a new Limited Regulation Carrier application, the application must include an Annual Vehicle Inspection Report for each vehicle before the permit and stamps can be issued.
A Limited Regulation Carrier adding a vehicle to its fleet must file an Annual Vehicle Inspection Report with the Commission for each additional vehicle within 30 days after purchasing the additional 2014 vehicle stamp.
Annual Vehicle Inspection Report ("Carrier Name" on form is your company's name)
Changes to the Rules Regulating Transportation by Motor Carrier went into effect on February 14, 2014 as a result of the decision in Proceeding No. 13R-0009TR. Click for the current rules (February 14, 2014 and later).
Be prepared to pay fees at the counter of the PUC Fileroom with exact cash or check. Check payment for fingerprints must be made with a company check. Credit or debit card payments are accepted over-the-counter and over the phone with a $4 charge made by the vendor.
State Law requires luxury limousines, taxis and tow trucks have special license plates. These license plates are obtained at county motor vehicle offices. Failure to comply with this requirement may result in a police citation.