- Consumer Assistance
- Renew or Apply for a License
- About Us
- DORA Home
We're redesigning the DORA website, and we need your help. Please take our survey now!
Colorado appraiser law and Board rules establish four levels of licensure which are summarized in more detail below. A license or certification is issued when an individual meets the education, examination and experience requirements for the level of licensure the individual seeks.
This level of licensure is only utilized for appraiser employees of county tax assessment offices.
The Licensed credential allows the appraiser to appraise non-complex 1-4 unit residential properties having a transaction value of less than $1 million and complex 1-4 unit residential properties having a transaction value of less than $250,000.
The Certified Residential credential allows the appraiser to appraise 1-4 unit residential properties without regard to transaction value or complexity. The credential includes the appraisal of vacant or unimproved land that is utilized for 1-4 family purposes or for which the highest and best use is for 1-4 family purposes, but does not include land for which a subdivision analysis is necessary.
The Certified General credential allows the appraiser to appraise all types of real property.
Getting a real estate appraiser license or certification upgrade has numerous requirements that can be confusing. The Division has provided a simple overview of the licensing process. These steps also provide quick links to other websites that will provide information an applicant will need in the process.
Real estate appraisers must renew their Colorado license between November 15th and December 31st at the end of their three-year cycle. If a licensee fails to renew the license within that time frame the licensee will have until January 31st of the new year to renew the license. Should the licensee fail to renew after the grace period, they may reinstate the license within two years after the date of expiration.
All applications for initial licensure and certification upgrades are submitted as a paper application to the Division. This includes applications for preliminary advisory opinion, reciprocity and temporary licenses. Renewals are completed online.
AQB criteria requires all license and certification applicants to acquire a specific number of experience hours to qualify for an appraiser credential. All experience is documented by the applicant and supervisor (if applicable) through a Division of Real Estate experience log. As part of the application, the experience log is reviewed by Division staff to verify the experience was gained meeting AQB experience requirements and is USPAP compliant. The experience log requirements can be tricky and often can be the cause for a delay of an approval or denial of an application.
All licensees must submit to a state and national background check by submitting fingerprints. All currently licensed appraisers must also submit a set of fingerprints prior to renewal for licensees who expire December 31, 2013, 2014 and 2015.
All active real estate appraisers must carry errors and omissions insurance**, effective July 1, 2013. Licensees can be covered under their company’s umbrella policy. The Division of Real Estate has contracted with Rice Insurance Services, LLC to administer the group E&O insurance program for Colorado appraisers.
Appraisers who work for a County Assessor’s or State/Government office are exempt from the background and errors and omissions Insurance. Should those appraisers discontinue their employment with those offices; they are then required to provide the Division with errors and omissions insurance. Depending on their position held at a County Assessor’s or State/Government office they may be required to submit a set of fingerprints.
Proposed revisions to the Real Property Appraiser Qualification Criteria (Criteria) have been adopted by the Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB). The Criteria, which were adopted at the December 2011 meeting of the AQB, will be effective on January 1, 2015.
Adobe Acrobat Reader is required in order to view and print many of these materials. If you do not have Adobe Acrobat Reader, download the latest free version directly from the Adobe website, or convert a document to text.