- Consumer Assistance
- Renew or Apply for a License
- About Us
- DORA Home
We're redesigning the DORA website, and we need your help. Please take our survey now!
Mortgage companies are required to be registered on the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (the “NMLS”). In order to register, mortgage companies must adhere to all NMLS policies and pay requisite fees for company registration. Additionally, mortgage companies must meet the following requirements defined in Section 12-61-903.1, C.R.S. Mortgage companies must be:
in good standing with the Colorado Secretary of State; and
shall not be legally barred from operating in Colorado.
To register on the NMLS, please visit: NMLS Home Website
Colorado statute defines a mortgage company as a person other than an individual who, through employees or other individuals, takes residential loan applications or offers or negotiates terms of a residential mortgage loan.
The Board may deny an application for registration, refuse to renew, suspend or revoke the registration, enter cease and desist orders, and impose fines if mortgage companies violate any of the following:
If the mortgage company is acting without proper registration;
If the mortgage company fails to maintain possession of documents as prescribed by the Board;
If the mortgage company employs or acts through unlicensed mortgage loan originators; or
If the mortgage company engages in non-compliant, false or deceptive advertisements.
The Board may fine mortgage companies who violate the aforementioned standards of conduct. Fines may not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) per violation in the first administrative proceeding and shall not be less than one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) or more than two thousand dollars ($2,000.00) per violation in subsequent administrative proceedings.